top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMaddy Miller

Unpopular Opinion: brunch isn't that good.

Updated: Mar 30, 2020

This is my first ever post into my blog titled "Unpopular Opinions" where I will write about (you guessed it) unpopular opinions and whether or not I agree!


I got the idea for this blog scrolling through Instagram one day. I saw a post with a bunch of unpopular opinions; I was fascinated by them. I started asking my friends about their unpopular opinions and it really turned into a fun conversation. So now I'm turning it into a blog! Going off of that, if you have any unpopular opinions yourself, do not hesitate to hand them off to me. They may be the topic of my next post!


Unpopular Opinion: Brunch isn't that good.

Okay before you get upset, let me just say I am not saying this is MY unpopular opinion. This is something I found when I searched "unpopular opinions" into Google. I think this is an interesting one because there are a lot of factors that go into brunch. First off, when is the right time to have brunch? Does it count as brunch if you have brunch literally during the lunch time or does it have to be more like 10 am - 11 am time period for it to be considered brunch? I feel like this is a foggy area.


Second, what IS brunch? Is it having breakfast food for lunch or lunch food for breakfast? Once again, a foggy area. Lots of foggy areas with this whole brunch area which is why I am skeptical. I just feel like brunch is a hyped up topic when it really is just a basic concept. People have breakfast for dinner all the time but there isn't a fancy word for that is there? ("brinner"??)


All I'm saying is that brunch is just something simple: breakfast at a later time or lunch at an earlier time. So why all this hype? I can't count how many times I have heard "Oh my gosh, that would be so fun to go out for brunch sometime!" Okay cool? What about breakfast? Lunch? Dinner? Even coffee?? My personal bias is coming out. I think that is because it is time to admit it: I don't like breakfast food. I feel like that is why I don't get the hype around brunch. I'd rather you just ask me to "go get food" and I'll just get whatever type I want, regardless of the time of day ya know? It's just simpler.


So that's my first blog post, thanks for reading! Come back to read some more unpopular opinions and even reach out to me if you have some of your own! Until then, here's random fact to leave you with:



So what do you think about brunch? Overhyped or a perfect meal? Let me know in the comments below!

 

33 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page