top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMaddy Miller

UNPOPULAR OPINION: A Series, pt. 1

Couldn’t find one that I thought needed an entire blog post, so welcome to the first edition of Unpopular Opinion: A Series.


Unpopular opinions are common; everyone is bound to have at least a couple. However, there are some unpopular opinions that just aren’t juicy enough for an entire blog post. This is why I came up with Unpopular Opinion: A Series. It’s basically a commentary on some of the unpopular opinions I find in bulk.


Up first, we have this article, written by Reuben Salsa (fun name!). I can’t really tell where this list came from, considering the article claims “This list in no way reflects humanity or the author’s personal opinion.” But they had some fun & interesting ones, plus it was the first article to pop up on google (shout out to SEO).


Strawberries are disgusting.

Yeah, no. Strawberries are really good and taste incredible in the summertime. Cut them up in a fruit salad or dip them in chocolate; either way, one of the best fruits imo.


The Office US is far better and funnier than the UK original.

I’ve never seen The Office UK version, but I’ve heard this opinion a lot so maybe it’s not unpopular. I also want to give a shout out to The Office in general; that show has gotten me through a lot of sleepless nights, dullness in Netflix selection, and awkward hangouts.


The bible is to popular culture what Kim Jung-Un is to golf. A pack of lies.

PTL this is unpopular, because it’s definitely false. The bible has gotten me through the toughest times in my life and has the richest truths you will ever find. You will never convince me otherwise.


(sidenote: this article has a ton of typos & grammatical issues; so if you see one, it’s not me, it’s them...)

Friends the program is sh*t. Friends IRL are overrated.

False again. Friends is a great show, although Netflix took it off before I could finish it (I never got to meet Rachel’s baby…). Friends in real life are the key to staying sane and I am truly blessed with some of the best.


You won’t find true love. Better to settle for average.


You know, considering I’ve been single my entire life, I could be swayed here. However, I’m still holding on to the dream that I will be swept off my feet by a handsome, funny, kind, compassionate, Jesus-loving guy someday. (Note to self: if you are 50, still single, and somehow reading this: settle for average.)


Musicals are just awful! All that bursting into spontaneous song will not bring about world peace or save humanity.

I’m genuinely sad people think this. I have always been a fan of musicals, I even was a part of one my senior year of high school (I played a rug in Beauty & The Beast; I’m good at dancing, but not at singing). I also got to see Hamilton live in Chicago. I’m not kidding you when I say it was the best live event I’ve ever been to; God bless Lin Manuel Miranda.


Powerpoint is dead.

It’s not, it’s just not as popular. Personally, Google Slides is nice because a lot of times, presentations in college are group presentations, so it’s easier to work on with everyone. I also enjoy Canva because it’s nice for design, comes with loads of templates, and you can either present right from there or download it as a PowerPoint.

Print is dead.

It’s also not. Books are better read in book form rather than on some type of tablet. Magazines are still in demand (Joanna gets it). On my college campus, some of the best outlets for student creativity is our newspaper, the yearbook, student art shows, and designs for advertising campus events.


SEO is dead.

Not even sure where this one came from. If anything, SEO is up-and-coming and matters a lot to marketing for businesses. Trust me, I just spent a ton of time working on it for my summer internship.


Reality Stars are not stars. So why do people claim they are? and why are they doing so well financially considering they’ve offered the community nothing as well as not being talented?

As a fan of KUWTK, I will have to say I agree with this. No offense, but just being a family (no offense Duggars) isn’t a reason to be a star. It doesn’t really take any talent. If anything, it just stirs drama, makes people self-consumed, and really doesn’t have a plot line besides the ones that producers make up.


That concludes the first-ever Unpopular Opinion: A Series. I hope you enjoyed reading my take on this very weird, poorly edited list of unpopular opinions. If you have any unpopular opinions that you think are worthy of being discussed, comment down below or leave me a message.


Of course, a fun fact: The Kardashian clan is incredibly rich. This is their ranking as far as net worth: Kim Kardashian-West: $900 million. Kylie Jenner: (just under) $900 million. Khloe Kardashian: $40 million. Kris Jenner: $37.5 million+. Kourtney Kardashian: $35 million. Kendall Jenner: $22 million.


21 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page