top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMaddy Miller

Unpopular Opinion: Taylor Swift’s music is TERRIBLE.

Updated: Jul 9, 2020

An excuse to write about my favorite musical artist? Yes, please!

If you read my first blog post, you should remember point #8 and know that I am a huge Taylor Swift fan. I’ve been a fan since the Teardrops on my Guitar era, a song I used to sing pretending I had boy problems at the age of 8. I’ve loved all of her albums, right up to the most recent release of Lover (I seriously can't even pick a favorite on that album!). She used to be more country and has definitely transitioned into a more pop sound, but I think she can rock both! So if you’re wondering what my stance on this particular unpopular opinion is, I definitely disagree.

I was looking at a list on my phone of unpopular opinions I have tucked away for future blog posts, wondering which I was gonna write about next. None of them were appealing to me at the time, so I took to twitter. When I looked up “unpopular opinions”, there were a lot of tweets about things I didn’t understand or care about, like politics and anime. Then I stumbled on this tweet. @angiesee21 says “Unpopular opinion: Taylor Swift’s music is TERRIBLE.” I was kind of shocked to see this, mostly due to my love for her music, but people are for sure entitled to their own opinions.

It then led me to search “unpopular opinions taylor” just to see what people were thinking about Taylor Swift these days. Of course, none of these tweets changed my own opinion of her, but I did think they were interesting and tad bit bittersweet. Seeing the mean ones, I couldn’t help but think “thank goodness these are unpopular opinions!” However, to the kind hearted unpopular opinion tweets, I, with my own bias, couldn’t help but think “Wait, is this really unpopular? I think a lot of people would agree!” However, I have no idea to know if that is true. Mainstream opinions are hard to keep up with these days.


Taylor Swift, her music and her reputation (see what I did there?) have been through a lot. She is constantly a talk in the media, either being bashed or being praised. The thing I admire so much about her is that she’s always been super honest about her feelings, her ups and downs, and just with how her life is. I have loved her music for a really long time but I would say I really started to like Taylor as a person when she released 1989. I can't really describe why, but just the branding of that album was really fun and cool to me.

The Reputation era also hit different for me because I actually understood the true meaning behind all of her songs on that album. She was writing about all the stuff she had gone through in the past, including the drama with Kanye, the sexual assault lawsuit, and all the criticism she got from the media (I mean how would you feel as Taylor if #TaylorSwiftIsOverParty was trending on twitter?). This album was not only so fun to listen to, but for the first time, I truly felt like I understood a music artist more as a person by listening to their music. It was a super fun experience for me.


I love and have always loved Taylor Swift’s music. I love how she uses her platform to stand up for the things she believes in, even though I personally don’t agree with everything she advocates. Her film Miss Americana on Netflix was one of the best documentaries I’ve watched; I love how real she was with her audience about her past and it was fun to see a glimpse into how she lives her life.

So no, I do not think Taylor Swift’s music is terrible. In fact, ask my family what I listened to for three hours straight during my driving shift on our drive down to Florida last year (check out my playlist here!). Taylor Swift’s albums for me are just some of those I could listen to on repeat and never get tired of it. I’ve only ever bought a CD copy of one album in my entire life, and that album was 1989 by Taylor Swift (& it remains the only CD in my car to this day). Also, as a lover of concerts and T-Swift, it is a dream of mine to go to one of her concerts someday! (She’s gotta have a Lover tour coming up, right?) I turn 22 years old this month (May 29th) and I can’t wait to listen to this song all day long!


Thanks for reading unpopular opinions. Drop a comment below on how you feel about Taylor Swift’s music, and if you have an unpopular opinion that you feel would make a good topic of conversation, let me know!


As always, a fun fact: Taylor Swift has won 10 Grammy Awards, an Emmy Award, has six Guinness world records and is the most-awarded act and woman at the American Music Awards (29 wins) and Billboard Music Awards (23 wins), respectively.


 

96 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page