top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMaddy Miller

Unpopular Opinion: anyone who uses 2 in 1 shampoo/conditioner is uneducated.

Updated: Mar 30, 2020

...and they further said "anything more than 2-in-1 and they don't deserve to bathe themselves."


I recently posted this post on my Instagram story:

I got a variety of responses, most of which I hope to use in future blog posts. But this one was submitted by a friend of mine, and for some reason I thought it was so funny how passionate he was (so passionate to submit two responses about one topic). So I decided to make this topic the next one in my blog post series!

 

I actually was just talking about this subject with some friends. I honestly had no idea that a good percentage of the male population uses 2-in-1 shampoo and conditioner. In their words, "It's simpler." Simpler? Males (or short-haired people in general) ALREADY have it simple. Short hair is so freakin' easy. They don't know what it is like when we long-haired people wash our hair... I swear I lose at least 25% of my hair in the shower. My dad used to get so angry when I lived at home because my shower drain would get clogged at least once a month with my hair.


So what else is it with the 2-in-1? Does it do a better job in the hair cleansing process? My friend with the opinion claims these people are "uneducated," and I kind of have to agree. I am not an expert whatsoever, but it doesn't really seem like you can just combine two products randomly and they just *poof* make a better product. It has to be the simplicity of only having to use one product, --that is really the only idea I can understand. To be honest, I have never understood why guys can take showers so fast, but after learning that a lot of them use 2-in-1 (something I used as a 3rd grader? or younger, idk), it really makes sense.


I cannot decide completely whether or not I agree. This is what I would say: If you have hair that is any longer than a dog's fur, the 2-in-1 is an absolute no-go. You NEED to wash your hair properly. And for those of you who have pretty short hair: Bathe in the bliss of only having to use one product in your hair, because we aren't all that lucky.



I will absolutely not discuss a product such as a 3-in-1, because I agree completely: You do not deserve to bathe if you think one product can clean every area of your body completely and to the best of its ability. That is just ignorance.


Why did I just get so heated about shower products?


Fun fact: When 2-in-1 shampoo and conditioners were first introduced to the market, their original intent was to help shampoo addicts get more moisture with their daily washes. It was a more affordable alternative to buying a shampoo bottle as well as a conditioner bottle.


Thanks for reading! Comment down below your own opinion of 2-in-1 (or the cringe-worthy 3-in-1).


And always remember: If you have any unpopular opinions, feel free to send them to me & you could be featured on the next segment of Unpopular Opinions!


 

54 views3 comments

3 Comments


Andrea Leon
Andrea Leon
Apr 17, 2020

I LOVED this post Maddy! So fun but so accurate! I totally feel you & agree with you! Thanks for sharing this! haha

Like

cheri.stutzman
Apr 13, 2020

Haha! I loved this blog post Maddy! Anyone who doesn't have to wash long hair...count yourself blessed!

Like

Kayla Landis
Kayla Landis
Apr 01, 2020

Wow, Maddy! This was truly a passion-filled blog post! I agree with you that people who use 2-in-1 are lucky. They will never know the struggle that long-haired people go through when bathing. Thank you for sharing your opinion!

Like
bottom of page